Negotiate With Iran or the Whole of the Middle East Could Burn (Director's Cut)

If the US is going to avoid a regional war, Biden has no choice but to talk with Washington’s regional adversary

Negotiate With Iran or the Whole of the Middle East Could Burn (Director's Cut)

Edited by The Nation 


Remember how I wrote in the last Director's Cut* that I felt like my last Nation column should have made more of the Qods Force-ordered stand-down of the Hashd militias in Iraq and Syria? It occurred to me afterward that I should write a follow-up addressing that in the context of a more forthright call to negotiate with Iran than the one the column offered. Then I saw the Financial Times and soon after The New York Times reported that there had been diplomatic contact between Washington and Tehran in January – but in the weakest fashion. I took that as an opportunity to address that in The Nation, since that's where the column appeared. If you read this as an addendum to my print column, I wouldn't be mad at that. 

Housekeeping: my intent is for this to be the last edition of FOREVER WARS in March. Events in the world have a tendency to undermine my intentions, but I need to spend the rest of this month writing THE TORTURE AND DELIVERANCE OF MAJID KHAN, working on an as-yet-unannounced project and doing my taxes. As well, at 5:30 p.m. on Friday, March 29, I'll be at Hampshire College in Amherst, Massachusetts to discuss U.S. foreign policy and the 2024 elections

OK: paid subscribers only for the rest of this one. Why deny yourself?